top of page

20% Time - 50% To Do


We are officially halfway through our 20% Time Project. After a period of waiting, we are finally making progress again. As of today, we have collected 525 caps. We are expecting this number to increase drastically in the near future as we finally received approval from the principals of nearly every school in the district to collect caps. We are planning on dropping off collection bins in the next week or so to continue with and speed up this long process. We were also recently informed of the approval process for murals in our school, so we will also be working on that very soon. We are now back on track for making this project a success with the support of so many people.

I have learned more than I ever thought I would from this project, even though we are only halfway through. The thing that surprised me the

most was the willingness of people to help. So many of our friends are collecting caps on a daily basis. Even friends of friends started to help. Next, my art teacher started spreading the word and offering extra credit to people who brought in caps. And now, we can finally spread the efforts to the other schools in this district. I can't wait to see how many caps we can collect and what we will be able to accomplish because of the generosity of all of these people. If today were the last day of the project, i would be very happy with our management skills. I can only speak for myself when I say this project is progressing so much better than last year, and I think my classmates would agree.

Our mentor is most likely going to be my art teacher as she already has a lot of experience and has clearly proved her willingness to help us with this project. We may also speak with the other two art teachers from the high school because they have worked with students doing murals in the past. As we have learned, the more brains, the better.

I am more excited than ever now because our project is being accelerated and I can see the final project being a success in the near future. I really hope we can pull this project off. In the beginning, it may have seemed far-fetched, but it is beginning to make its way into our reach.

Check out the blogs of the other two people in my group!

Also check out this site related to the 20% Time Project!

bottom of page