top of page

20% Time Week 5

Project Pitches

Yesterday we completed our project pitches. Multiple teachers came down to see them, so we were able to get a lot of helpful feedback. My group presented our ideas for our project to three teachers, all of whom seemed to love

our idea, which was really reassuring. One teacher recommended that we do contests in the elementary schools to see who can collect the most bottle caps, which we had considered before, but now we know it is a good idea. We are now working towards getting collection bins in the schools throughout the district. Unfortunately, none of the administrators that I emailed about this idea have gotten back to me. I am hoping we will be able to get permission to extend our collection process into these schools. Another teacher informed us of who we need to talk to in order to get permission to create a mural in the school. Lastly, we were told that it might be a good idea to talk to the Take Action Club about our project​ and maybe even start a recycling club of our own. Overall, I am very happy that we did these pitched because we got some very useful information. However, I wish these pitches were more like a conversation the whole time because the question and answer part was the most helpful to us. As for our progress on the project, we recently printed out fliers to put around the school informing people to save their bottle caps. My art teacher has been the most helpful to me in this project. She has been giving me at least five bottle caps a day and is now even offering extra credit to students who bring in a certain number of caps for me. I greatly appreciate this help and that of many of my friends who are also continuing to collect caps. We are making a lot of progress and if we continue working hard and spreading the word about our project, I believe it will become a success.

Timeline

Check out this TED Talk about plastic pollution!

bottom of page