top of page

Haroun and the Sea of Stories Project Reflection


Our Project: The Hero's Journey

My group not only decided to focus on the hero's journey, but also on the idea that everything is a remix (click on link for a video). To do this, we connected each character that Haroun met along his journey to becoming a hero with a character from another story. We chose to do the project this way because we felt the allusions to other stories were a huge part of the plot and helped to develop our understanding of the hero's journey as a whole. As I think about the past, I have never done a project like this one before. I believe this project, much like the book, is very unique. We were able to connect this story with so many others, which I can't say about many other books. Most projects I have done were more straightforward. I'd be given a task to complete and I'd do it as described. With this project, we used deeper thinking in order to create our overall project. This being said, I am very proud of what my group and I came up with for this project. I was most satisfied with the way in which we portrayed each character. Some of the characters we used are as follows:

  • Mulan as Blabbermouth

  • Walt Disney as Rashid

  • Mowgli as Haroun

  • Marlin and Dory as the Plentimaw Fish

For me, coming up with characters was the most difficult and enjoyable part of the project. It was like finding the pieces to a puzzle. For our group, the most frustrating part was probably completing the project in the amount of time given. We wanted our project to be the best we could possibly make it, causing us to struggle with time. However, overall, I think I can speak for us all when I say we are pleasantly surprised with the outcome. Based on the design specs rubric pictured below, I think our group was very successful. For the "Make it Beautiful" part of the project, in my opinion, my group was able to make our project "beautifully creative." In order to make the project relevant, we used all of the characters in the way I mentioned earlier, which greatly added to the overall understanding of the story. By tackling this project in a different way than others, we were able to make an impression on the audience, making our project not only poignant, but unique as well. Because of all of this, I'd say our project overall was an accomplishment. However, if I could improve upon something in this project, I would like to find someone to represent every character in the book, rather than just some of them. I would also like to improve on our craftsmanship on the poster as a whole. In my opinion, both of these things came down to time restrictions. Therefore, next time I'd like to manage my time more efficiently in order to create a project that I would be completely proud of.

bottom of page